BtM: Talkin' Shenmue Introduction

For years I’ve wanted to create a Shenmue site called “Beyond the Memory”. I had plans and ideas to create a place with a wealth of information, aiming for stuff that wasn’t already out there (some things that I think are still not out there, like a full compendium of moves, complete with animated movies so people could “learn” Hazuki-style jiujitsu themselves).

Like many things, it never came to fruition beyond a few different website templates I put together over the course of about fifteen years.

Jumping forward to March, 2020, I was five or six days into Shenmue III, desperate to share all my thoughts with the venerable Shenmue Dojo or my old haunt GameFAQs. I posted a few times, but I hated to just dominate everywhere with spam, so instead I jotted down my thoughts each day. I was still dying to share them with the world, and realized a blog would do the trick.

My first thought was to title it “Shenmusings”, but as it turns out, there’s already a great blog out there of the Shenmusings. Well… why not call it “Beyond the Memory”, with a little tagline so we know it’s a Shenmue site?

My initial posts will primarily be a running commentary on my experience with Shenmue III, and the first few days are little more than random thoughts. Later days are more like actual journal entries. Shenmue I and II will probably get their own running commentaries at some point, and there are a lot of other Shenmue topics I’d like to talk about.

The series has enthralled me for more than twenty years, so I doubt I’ll run out of content anytime soon!

Anyway, whether you read any of this or not, I hope your adventures with Ryo come to mean as much to you as they do to me!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started