Shenmue III Part 15: Boring but Not Actually

Thursday 3/19:

Let’s start with an epic screenshot! Ryo is the man!

Today was pretty tedious in the world of Shenmue. I spent lots of time running around looking for street fights, but that’s totally my fault: I’m a dip and totally forgot about the street fighting at the Rose Garden since I clobbered everyone in the tournament days ago). On the plus side, it reminded me of this classic meme from Shenmue II:

Searching martial arts shops and guessing at styles was a pain, and then grinding some cash… well, it’s not too bad, using the fortune teller/gambling method. I did cheat a little, having read about some book sales, and while that method was patched out, but a statue method scored me what bit of cash I still needed.

On the plus side, a lot of the side events were pretty enjoyable. I did a quest for Shiling, met Delin’s brother, got to drive a forklift for the first time in Shenmue III, did some Chawan signs, found some cool easter eggs…

I guess today was pretty fun after all! Here’s a pile of screenshots to confirm this:

In very Shenmue fashion, local characters appear on the various magazines and grocery items in the game.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started